top of page

Kitchen - Yup!

The past two weeks have seen considerable progress on the house build, and as the title suggests the kitchen has been fitted and so is 90% complete. Before the kitchen could be fitted I made sure the floors where dust and mark free, as after installation a deep clean would be more difficult. Additionally, I sealed the space between the floor and walls to stop insects... or at least try. Ants are an issue, as are their main predator, the lovely centipede.


Also, as the electrician didn't turn up before the kitchen was fitted I had to fit the covers and switches for the kitchen and dining area myself - easy task. Euro switches are, as one of my friends would say, "Dog Toffee", at least compared to the brilliantly designed UK job.

Did I mention that the plugs and light sockets as fitted made a complete no-go of my smart switches? Different backing box sizes, and they had already been fitted. So, no dimmers available at the moment: not good, as I don't generally like full on 'hard light' unless performing brain surgery. A future project... no, not brain surgery, I mean the dimmers...

Money for Nothing

This was not a painless process. Firstly there was a delay because another large instal on the neighbouring island of Pico over-ran. And when the fitting did start it was interrupted by the Labour Day Holiday. Finally, the skilled stone cutter was not available immediately. When you are using Silestone, a mistake can be costly, and the kitchen-unit fitter wasn't happy about attempting it on his own. I don't blame him, because of course the worktops had to be shipped in from the mainland.

And so it starts... and nearly finished a week later! The quality of the units is second to none and custom made on the island. I took the top spec. to help resist the high humidity. The stone tiles here are a kind of sand colour becase of a recent wash and still slightly damp - they dry to a grey mottled finish.

So, I mention 90% complete: The hot water heater needs to be connected by the electrician; this can't happen until the EDA (the local power supplier) has connected the house with the correct upgraded cable.


The extractor hood needs to be fitted. This should be as easy as bolting it to the wall, and I am hoping that the builders can do this for me, as the unit is reasonably heavy and needs good anchoring. Power is already available, so that it's just a case of plugging it in.


Answering previous questions, yes, it's a 30kVA supply... see here … about 30kW or 125Amps at 240v, whichever way you look at it, for a non reactive load - i.e. no motors, so a power factor approaching unity. (For domestic purposes 1kVA = 1kW)


One small problem needs to be fixed tomorrow: When the waste trap to the sink was fitted it interferes with the closing of the large sliding door under the sink... why have I got a sliding door, you may ask? The picture below should make it clear; under the sink are recycling bins.

Four recycling bins sit in a removable plastic tray. A convenient addition to the kitchen.


My 'Butcher's Block' was the only thing (that I have found so far) to be damaged in transit. Unfortunately three of the four wheels got broken... a quick trip to a hardware store, and I purchased a new set of wheels and screwed them on. Job done. So that is placed under the breakfast bar, providing extra storage (my little larder) and a handy pull out extra chopping surface.

The "Butchers Block" under the breakfast bar. A slight miscalculation means that whilst it is in place there is only comfortable room for one of the two bar stools. Never mind, the other can find a home elsewhere, or the block moved for when side by side breakfasting is required. Meanwhile the single stool at the bar makes an amazing place for the lap-top.


The kitchen fitter supplied me with a super mixer tap. New design, it is cool - and flexible, although I don't know how often I'll use that feature!

The fact that it is matte black - it goes so well with the worktops and was a complete surprise as supplied (I did have a choice, but this came recommended, being the latest design. Once I saw it then I was sold. Not cheap. Sigh.


Below are a few pictures of the kitchen as currently fitted and filled:

The breakfast bar... trying to keep it tidy, but you put out a mug, a jar of coffee, a kettle and before you know it you have 'kitchen clutter'. Now, why didn't the builders put the two isolation valves for the water heater at the same height? LOL. It adds quirky interest?

All the units and worktops in place. Actually getting a picture to do it justice is difficult - soup maker, toaster, jars and microwave all add to the debris. I might stow these; however if things are put in cupboards they tend not to get used. I know, I have been here before. After all, it is a kitchen for living, cooking, eating and relaxing in, not a showroom model.


Of course, while all that is going on I am slowly being able to assemble furniture and decant the boxes stored upstairs to their respective locations.

Yesterday I was able to finish 'populating' the kitchen and dining room area, and managed to assemble the dining table and move the storage shelves into place... unfortunately I have not been able to assemble the benches as the components are upstairs and too heavy for me to bring down the stairs safely on my own.


The dining area got some love, so worth a couple of pictures:

I still have to assemble the benches, but there is plenty of room for them. I like this addition to the end of the kitchen. The wall unit was used as a divider in my previous home. It survived the transportation with just a couple of tiny scuffs. It looks good - I was going to repaint it, but I don't think it is needed, and looks a good colour against the white walls.

Now, if I say so myself, it looks like a catalog photo. Ready for dinner?


Meanwhile, other works have continued by the builders - namely laying exterior tiles and grouting, weather permitting, and when it rained (oh, it does!) they have been tidying up things internally, such as cleaning the stairs, floors and skirtings of paint splashes and marks.

Entrance paving - worth noting is the precision cut cover for the waste inspection access, lower left.

The main patio tiles are now finished, So just awaiting the safety poles and wires and I can start with assembling the picnic table and other outdoor furniture ready for summer. A cool zone in the heat, and a dry zone for when the taps are turned on.


I did mention in a previous blog about a small issue with the outside edge of the stairs being slightly too low. This has been handsomely fixed by fitting of stone to the edge cap, and then finishing with stainless steel trim. The image below illustrates:

Looks great, but they will need a regular polish. It has solved the problem though.


Works still to be undertaken:

  • Fit all the internal doors and architraves. This should happen this week.

  • Fit the outside posts and wires.

  • Tile the walls above the kitchen worktops in red tiles. Awesome.

  • Order a banister to be fabricated - very important, and how overlooked is anyone's guess.

  • Check out what's happening with the missing balustrades to the stairs!

  • Get electrician to upgrade water heater trip for the bathroom sink - it keeps tripping out.

  • EDA to fit mains supply.

  • Fit log burning stove.

  • Fit glass or stone surfaces to fire surround (to stop them getting grubby).

  • Lay Drive … first batch of paving stones ordered.

So, to recap: Bathroom finished, Kitchen nearly done and dining area nearly done. It will be great to get the living area assembled... but that is a story for next week...


Next Up: Main Living Area...




  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
bottom of page