top of page

Add an engaging title here... Erm..

A very short build blog this week. In summary, the roof is still in the field and the builders have been concentrating on the interior concrete render, electrics placement and such.


So, only a couple of photos this week showing the build. The side of the stairs have been finished and look very smart. Similar work has been undertaken to the other walls. Meanwhile, the electrician has been around with a chisel cutting out holes in the new render to place power points and switch boxes. Brilliant. So here are the two photos for this week:

Nice and tidy clean lines. I asked for the finish to be a straight line rather than a stepped profile as I think this will look better with the glass balustrade (if fitted). It has a sleek 'un-fussy' look that compliments the simple ones of the mezzanine and pillars.

So, we have this lovely render to the inside of the dressing room wall (arch leads into bedroom) and then along comes a chisel. I can imagine a war of words happening between trades, no? Of course, to fit back boxes and cabling, there is no alternative...

The project manager has been out and about, keeping an eye open for wood burners. One outlet 'Delfim Vegas' had a few... of course, the one that's in the style I like is probably the sleekest looking and therefore the most expensive. He continues his search.

Same as in the UK, these stoves are not cheap when you go for a quality item, and I have come to realise that not all wood burners are created equal.

The Azorean authorities do have a discount scheme going though, and if you spend over 1000 euros on a wood burner you can get 30% back... after filling in the appropriate form. I suppose this has a couple of reasons: It ensures you are using the stove as a main heating source and not just as a visual 'toy', and it encourages you to buy one of the most efficient models, some of which can exceed 80% efficiency, meaning that 80% of the energy in the wood is actually converted into heat. Vastly more efficient than any other form of heating.


I did look for a website for Delfim Vegas, but like many Azorean outlets, they didn't have one... but they had a facebook page which provided some interesting images of products they make or stock. They also make balustrades, hand railings, window shutters, gates and other iron work...

Super minimal balustrades (I really like the white posts) and handrail suitable for the steps down to the under-house garage / workshop.

Interior stairs railing, although I would imagine this is not cheap. Looks great though.


The house is specified to have shutters to some windows; they'll probably come from this company.


So, that's it for house developments this week.

______________________________________________________________________________


Meanwhile ....


This week has seen me back at work after the flu, and back on the case of finances. I had a very late night on Wednesday:


Arriving home from work and a letter had arrived from my main pension company. When a letter starts with the words, "Please first of all, let me apologise for the error..." it does not bode well.


To curt a very long story short, there had been, historically, a lack of communication somewhere between my employer and the pension company. Therefore, all the statements I have received for the last 12 years have been incorrect.


At this point, you can imagine I was having somewhat of a meltdown.


Not only had there been some sort of breakdown in communication, but the pension officer failed to notice this at our meeting some weeks ago. In other words, my figures where wildly out of kilter with the reality of the situation.


So, I spent Wednesday night with a calculator, a bunch of dates and a load of formulae, working out my pension, for myself. And eventually at about two in the morning realised that the pension company where correct and that my statements and verification by my works pension officer where wrong. Bugger.


End result, so as not to bore anyone with the full details, is that I am several thousand pounds short on the projected / stated lump sum, and a fair bit poorer on the annual pension projection.


But, importantly, I'm going to be OK. Just not as 'wealthy' as anticipated. The 'lump sum' was not assigned to the build, but merely to cushion me for the early retirement, and provide a nice day to day experience... Thank goodness that wine is cheap in the Azores.


And, on the upside, it will make me more focussed on growing some of my own food.


Seriously, this makes me realise how fortunate it is that outgoings for essentials will be so reasonable one the island. If I was to remain in the UK I would be completely destitute. And sadly, this is the case for so many retirees and pensioners in the UK.


Of course, I could decide to retire later, nearer my pension age of 66 and have more money... but time is one thing you can not buy. A sobering thought indeed.


Unfortunately, this is the 'cog in the machine' trap that so many are in ... retire with time to enjoy life, but be 'poor' .... or work for more money and then shuffle off the mortal coil but with a healthy bank account. What's your take?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Meanwhile ....



So I was pleased to read some good news on my favourite "expat" website EX-PAT FOCUS.


The link above gives clarity on the situation with regard to the UK state pension in regards to Brexit .... a deal was struck in 2017 to have these continue to rise in line with inflation despite whatever happens with Brexit.


Although this will not affect me personally for another 5 years, it is good to know that when my state pension kicks in I will be entitled to what I've paid in to for 40 odd years!


Of course, company and local government pension schemes also usually follow the state pension in this regard. Private pensions though are a different kettle of fish...

______________________________________________________________________________


Next Up: ... The 4 Month Countdown








  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
bottom of page