top of page

Viewing Properties - Part Two

So, I researched a lot of properties. This is really hard folks - because the one you really like is *always* over budget. But occasionally you come across one or two that look the business.


As mentioned in the previous post, I didn't get my first choice - but every cloud has a silver lining: The 'agent' for this was as shocked as I was that the property had sold...without his knowledge. But yes, I got to make an acquaintance here with the gentleman who had been marketing the property through his company.


Now, as I mentioned, it is really important to have a contact if you are buying a property abroad. Someone with their finger on the pulse. So my new acquaintance turned out to be a complete star and having my budget in mind kept a look out for likely properties. Of course I had a few in mind too.

Here's a nice one:but unfortunately, no view and needed a fair bit of work. But great value

This building was also included... but my pockets are not deep enough. !50k Euros + fix-up which could have run to thousands. It had 3 levels of gardens too. But we moved on....

The front garden... looks low maintenance...but for me? Probably too much, but lovely.


My soon to be project manager is from the UK but has lived on Faial for 17 or 18 years. So no language barriers. His primary business was as an agent, procurator and general 'fix-it' guy. You need help, he's your man, for a fee of course.... and a very reasonable fee.

Here's another property that was being marketed - 110k Euros, but too small for me. Lovely.


So, he knew we would be at Fishermans Cottage - in fact he had sold the property to a friend many years ago! So the second day, he turned up to take us for a drive around the properties and also to visit his house, meet his wife, and generally display his integrity and qualifications for being my agent (and as it turned out, 'Project Manager') on Faial. And straight away we really clicked. I couldn't have been happier. As an ex Navy guy, we had a lot in common.

Everyone needs a Project Manager... seriously, if you are building in Portugal you need a guide. Sincerity, integrity, reliability and a sense of humour essential.

A note: My Project Manager is now officially retired (although he laughs his socks off at the notion). I will though, probably be his last customer for what is to follow.....


Next Up - A Change of Direction




  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
bottom of page