top of page

Viewing Properties

Before even thinking about the Azores as a destination, I had been looking at properties abroad in general. Now a sensible person would have perhaps looked at the Algarve. It is within easy flying, just drop straight into the airport, job done.

Not my idea of heaven. Fish and Chips in the Algarve. Oh dear. UK moves to Portugal.


But then again, isn't it all just a bit - how shall I say this - English. So being a complete nutter, I had to try and find the most remote, out of the way place that can still be considered Europe. Sort of. Also it had to be beautiful for that Soylent Green moment that we all arrive at.

A moving scene from the movie 'Soylent Green'. Beautiful memories for the next dimension.


I'd seen and thought about many destinations; even thinking about India at one point (but then no; casting my mind back to my global travels at a younger age I thought "'erm, perhaps not".

Mumbai. Too much culture shock. Too much poverty. Too much of too little. I think I'll pass.


Really I don't like The States - people there are great but I don't like the lifestyle, most of Europe is either too expensive or politically screwed. The Far East is a step too far... and I'd never learn any of the language...too old for Australia and all the buzz it has to offer... So.

No, no, no. Wrong on so many levels. Times square. My idea of hell on earth. Sorry USA.


Beautiful, Green, Remote, Friendly, Natural, Interesting, Cultural, Sunny, Windy, Wet, Enchanting, Affordable, Chilled, Relaxed, Alternative ... are words that spring to mind.

Ah, there we go. This horse was tethered on the land opposite Fishermans Cottage for a short while. Happy as Larry, eating the verdant grass and posing for photographs. Nice.


So, having settled on the Azores, I started my research, bearing in mind that a life-time before, I had seen the island of my dreams from a distance. The Azore's nine islands are all completely different and initially my search for properties was unlimited: I looked at them all. But as time went on I found myself more drawn to both Faial and Pico Islands. In fact, you don't really need to choose between them anyway, since they are so close together that a 30 minute ferry will take you between them, weather permitting.


Now searching on the internet for a property over 2000 miles away is fun. And a kind of 'bang your head against a wall for a laugh' experience. Ideally of course you would fly out there, rent a property for three months and make a leisurely search until you found your spot. Right? Right, if you have a few thousand $ to do this, no work to attend and unlimited leisure time. So that gets rid of around 99% of people then.


For the realists here... you do an internet search and you make a short list.


You contact the vendor and make an offer subject to viewing...and then you get disappointed because the place got sold before you could arrange a flight to visit. Damn.

This property was the one I really wanted: Right price and it had a nice renovated outbuilding / barn for a holiday let or to use as a studio. Unfortunately it was sold just prior to getting out there. Once you have your ideal property in mind it is hard to deviate....


Rinse and repeat on this. Basically, if the property is good then it is most likely going to sell before you get a chance to see it, unless you get really lucky and time things just right.


You need contacts, you need someone there. You need a representative, and agent.... and as it turned out, a Project Manager.


Next Up - Viewing Properties Part Two




  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
bottom of page