top of page

Getting to Faial - Eventually

Good things happen to those that wait, so I'm told. And yes... we waited. To be honest, I'm not sure what exactly happened as I was so sleep deprived. I know I fell asleep with my carry-on as a pillow. Being full of laptop and adapter plugs, boots and other such hardware items made for a really soft experience. Not. My right ear still has the appearance of a euro-socket, but people tell me it has always been that way.


I know the German guy kept a lookout on the departure board whilst I dozed... and I returned the favour.

Oh dear, how glum. Go on sport, cheer up, it might never happen. Look at that comfy floor. Go on, have a nap, I dare you. I know.... once we've checked in you can go shopping :)

I also know the Cher's way out of this was to go retail shopping :) How she had the energy god only knows. Something to do with her drug consumption I reckon (all prescription I must add). She's just crazy. Have new bag will travel.


Thank goodness, as smokers, that we had a bolt hole to go to for a nicotine fix. Yes, Lisbon Airport actually has smoking rooms, near to a bar. I'm sorry if this outrages non-smokers. But go to hell, it's my pocket money and my lungs. I am what is know as a 'considerate smoker', meaning that I don't fug other people up with my habit - so in return i expect to be left to my devices.


Eventually we found ourselves on the plane to Faial. Judging by the time we got there, it must have been around 14:00 when we took off, by which time we had been on the go for about thirty two hours. All the boys and girls from the first attempt where on the plane... all looking very much the worse for wear.


Oh, the joy of trying to sleep on an Airbus 320. I'm sure some of you will agree? There is just no place to go with your head, or your legs or your arms. Guantanamo Bay has nothing on this torture. But there comes a point when you will sleep with a needle up your arse. I got an hour before removing the needle gingerly.


The flight from Lisbon to Faial is about two and a half hours. Tolerable if you are not so tired.

Blue skies, blue water, preparing for the approach to Faial.

As the plane descended I had the fortune to be near the window and see the island from above for the first time. My heart leapt. Seriously. It was the most beautiful place I had seen, although I agree, even London looks good from 10,000 feet.

Flying over Horta, Faial. Lining up for landing at Horta Airport. It looks beautiful. It is.

The landing just happened "smoove" as silk - such a difference from the previous afternoons experience. The weather was gorgeous and just a few clouds in the sky. Wow. I stepped off the aircraft and felt an almost glorious feeling: Relief mixed with sunshine, sea-air mixed with excitement. If I had to put music to this, it would have Ebeneezer Goode.


Through the airport, customs, bags, all nice and smooth in vast contrast to Heathrow and Lisbon. Happy faces, bags felt lighter, "come on, out of here" ringing in my ears. Car hire, sorted. Keys, sorted, off to Horta to meet Fred, who's cottage we had rented.

Fred's cottage - bijou, yes. delightful, yes. Located in Almoxarife, 5km from Horta.

Strange, Cher driving (thank god), wrong side of the road... can't get lost (no, really you can't)... arrived hotel.. Fred waiting as he knows about the flight troubles. Onto the cottage. Happening fast. Great. Chill. Phew. No Ebeneezers required.

Up Next - First experiences of Faial


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
bottom of page